I’mmmm back!

I am getting married in less than four months! We are almost done with the planning, so I have been focusing a little on my exercise/fitness. I don’t want to go crazy/obsessive so I am going to try a new, healthy recipe each week. My posts will also include my workouts of the day, just to keep me motivated too. I have been doing Pure Barre and I looooove it!

One of my recent favorites: baked falafel from How Sweet Eat. Omg. They are so amazing and so good for you. Matt and I made a blackened chicken to go with it. We had some fresh tomato, lettuce, Trader Joe’s tzatziki and whole wheat pita.

Baked falafel, sooo good!

RECIPE: 

2 (14 oz)cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
4 garlic cloves, chopped
4 green onions, sliced
1 large egg
1 lemon, juiced
1/3 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1/3 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/4 cup whole wheat or all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder

DIRECTIONS: 

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a food processor, combine the chickpeas, garlic, onions, egg, lemon juice, parsley, cilantro, oil, salt, pepper, cumin and paprika. Pulse a few times until crumbly but not pureed. Add in half of the flour and baking powder and pulse a few more times until combine. Repeat with remaining flour and baking powder.

Once the mixture is combined, scoop out about 2 tablespoons worth and form it into a small patty or ball. Place the falafel on a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes, until slightly crisp on top and cooked through.

The best. We will be having this again soon.

Leave a Reply

